Dennis Lee

Dennis Lee
usaUnited States
First base
Past Teams
Augusta Athletics
Chippewa River Baseball League

Class of 2014

1st Baseman

Augusta Athletics 1989-96

The Augusta Athletics of the 1990’s had a memorable array of talented and fearsome players that collectively dominated the CRBL.  Amidst this accomplished and winning crew was 1st baseman Dennis “Denny” Lee, who is readily acknowledged by his Augusta brethren as the leader of the A’s rise to CRBL prominence.

Hitting from a simplistic upright stance, the right-handed swinging Lee brought immediate respect and awareness to the potency of Augusta’s line-up.  In the Athletics’ first CRBL season, Denny hit .321 (18 for 56) with 4 home runs and 17 RBI’s as the team went 9 and 7 while qualifying for the WBA gala from the South Division.  This would be the first of five consecutive seasons of hitting .300 or better, capped by his career best .446 average (29 for 65) in 1993.  His 65 at-bats and 29 runs scored that year both led the nine-team CRBL.  Denny also set personal highs in 1993 with 6 doubles and 6 home runs as he was deservedly recognized with an All-CRBL award.  Lee’s other league leading total came the previous year when his 26 RBI’s were tops in 1992. Despite his relatively short playing career in the CRBL, Denny is still tied for 35th all-time in long balls with 24.

The run production and leadership that Denny provided became crucial factors in the A’s noteworthy run of success in the CRBL and the WBA.  During the 1st baseman’s seven seasons of CRBL conflicts, Augusta won four South Division titles, three CRBL championships, qualified for seven WBA tournaments, played in four Final 8’s, and made it to two WBA  championship games, and winning the prized WBA championship in 1994.

With his time on Augusta dating back to the organization’s independent beginnings of the early 1980’s, Lee will forever be viewed as one of the town’s baseball giants.  Through his induction in to the Chippewa River Baseball League Hall of Fame, Dennis Lee rightfully takes his place as one the greats in the storied history of the CRBL.